This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Video driver issues

jjay0258

Sat Jan 04, 2020 3:57:00 pm

Hi,

I am completely new to Linux and I basically know nothing about it so... bear with me please.

I tried installing Zorin Lite with dual boot on my Windows 7 laptop. It is an old Sony Vaio VGN-AR320E with Nvidia Geforce Go 7400.

Basically everything went fine until I opened Display settings in Zorin. Then the image on my screen got warped and the screen was unresponsive (i do not have a photo, but i tried to explain in the screenshot from my phone). I restarted the laptop and i had blue lines on my screen, more visible on black backgrounds. You can see the images below. The lines are present in Zorin, Windows, BIOS and even the boot screen where it writes “VAIO”. Some issues that I also found:

1. My laptop does not know now what graphics card it has
2. The refresh rate of the screen is shown as 0 in Zorin and “Default” in Windows and I can not change it to anything else.
3. I can not install the driver for my graphics card neither in Zorin (says I am running an X server, but when i press Ctrl + Alt + F1...6 my screen is black with those stripes, no command line) and in Windows some versions either give a BSOD or my screen is black after booting.

I hope you can help me with some ideas how to fix my issue. I would be actually happier to go back to windows :D

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

carmar

Sat Jan 04, 2020 7:08:00 pm

Under Software & Updates -> Additional Drivers, do you see anything listed?