This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

MPD a ALSA update

olegausany

Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:13:32 pm

How can I update ALSA and MPD to a newer version? I'm just a user not the programmer. The reason I want to upgrade is that I can't play Wavpack .Wv audio files and according to official MPD website Wavpack and DSD native playback is supported but no install package provided, you have to compile it yourself. I googled the question before posting but not found any helpful info so any help is very appreciated

mdiemer

Thu Feb 13, 2020 7:25:16 pm

One thing you might try is:

open terminal, run these commands:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install mpd
sudo apt-get install alsa

olegausany

Fri Feb 14, 2020 10:51:37 pm

mdiemer wrote:One thing you might try is:

open terminal, run these commands:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install mpd
sudo apt-get install alsa

Thanks for reply
i did it and got response that latest version is already installed and nothing was updated
i also installed wavpack package but it didn't solve the problem even after system restart

Aravisian

Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:12:14 am

In terminal, please run
Code:
sudo apt-get install libwavpack1=5.1.0-2ubuntu1.4

Code:
sudo apt-get install wavpack=5.1.0-2ubuntu1.4

olegausany

Sat Feb 15, 2020 2:38:58 am

Aravisian wrote:In terminal, please run
Code:

Code:

thanks for reply
Just tried them but it ended with the same result

Aravisian

Sat Feb 15, 2020 3:12:48 am

olegausany wrote:
Code:

Code:

thanks for reply

Hmm... What are your exact symptoms- that is what happens when you try to use it?
What Operating System version are you running?

you MAY try repeating the above terminal commands with the addition of -y to each; for example:
Code:
sudo apt-get install -y mpd

olegausany

Sat Feb 15, 2020 3:32:00 am