This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Instal XBMC

Jetlimaster

Sun Feb 05, 2012 6:10:23 pm

Hello all.
Im new to linux and im an old fellow.40+ tried linux loong time ago but os was to hard.then im saw zorin os5 tried the fre werson and it was promising so im got me the ultimate one.:=)
Sadly mine favorite program XBMC not included in this realise . and now im realy confused how to instal new programs which not in the ubuntu sofware central. it is realy not user friendly whit all those terminal command and string and things im have eno clue how to use.
Feals im back 15 years ago in time and doing DOS :=(
it is any external program can help me insttal software im downloading fron the net? so much more easy both on mac and window,,you downlaod a package you klick on and it is installign self..why the linux community cant do the same way?
think that shoud help many emigrate fron windows.

so ask nr1 anyone can help me instal xbmc or im nead download the multimedia werson and instal over ultimate to get it working.

regards jetlimaster

sry for bad english but im old and blind :=)

Wolfman

Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:14:37 pm

Hi,

before you use the PPA listed below, make sure that all other XBMC PPA's and the program itself have been removed from your system. Open Synaptic and go to "Settings > Repositories > Other Software and remove the existing PPA's (delete them from the list) and un-install XBMC first!!:

Then open a terminal and copy these commands one by one into it:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:team-xbmc/unstable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get -y install xbmc

You will be asked for your password which you only need to enter once; as long as you keep the terminal window open while doing the install!!.

Hope this helps :D

If you have any problems, let us know!!.