This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Network manager issues. Can't connect to WiFi.

Tsense

Thu Aug 06, 2020 4:35:21 pm

When I boot into zorin from a usb. The Wi-Fi symbol appears but within a few seconds it disappears. In the Wi-Fi settings I'm getting and error that says " contact your software vendor. NetworkManager needs to be running. "

What should I do?

Swarfendor437

Thu Aug 06, 2020 10:24:10 pm

I found this:

https://www.mail-archive.com/desktop-pa ... 38449.html

and this puts things into perspective:

https://fossbytes.com/difference-betwee ... -firmware/

Do you know what chipset is used in your notebook for wireless? ;) :D

Tsense

Fri Aug 07, 2020 12:40:22 am

I'm not tech savvy. Work gave me this usb drive that has zorin installed and I saw a post that someone gave information to type into the terminal which helped diagnose what was wrong.

If I plug in Ethernet cable the same thing happens. At one point it worked fine for about 12 hours but no luck ever since.

I've used the usb on two other computers and it works fine.

The chipset I believe is Qualcomm atheros qca61x4

Does that sound right?

Aravisian

Fri Aug 07, 2020 1:47:41 am

Tsense wrote:I'm not tech savvy. Work gave me this usb drive that has zorin installed and I saw a post that someone gave information to type into the terminal which helped diagnose what was wrong.

If I plug in Ethernet cable the same thing happens. At one point it worked fine for about 12 hours but no luck ever since.

I've used the usb on two other computers and it works fine.

The chipset I believe is Qualcomm atheros qca61x4

Does that sound right?

Are you running the Zorin OS off the USB (LiveCD in Persistance) or did you insert the USB to install Zorin to the computer adn are now running it off the computer, USB not needed?

Tsense