This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

General Zorin Questions from New User

mr_x

Fri Aug 07, 2020 9:03:43 pm

Hi. I am very new to Zorin OS. I had been using Manjaro previously for a few years prior, and recently went distro-hopping. I think I've found my new home on Zorin OS. I love the look and feel of it, and the performance I'm getting. I paid for the ultimate version to support the developers.
I just have a few questions however.
1. How come Zorin OS is way behind Ubuntu LTS? (For example, current 15.2 version is based on 18.04 LTS release), whereas other Ubuntu based distros like Pop OS are already on 20.04 LTS.
2. Is there a way to upgrade the distro version in the future WITHOUT losing ANY of my data?

Thanks in advance.

Swarfendor437

Sat Aug 08, 2020 11:51:43 am

The reason why Zorin might be behind other distributions is that they ensure that their system remains stable and don't rush things for the sake of new things on the block. As for updating, on any system you should first make a full backup. There is supposed to be a guide somewhere on Zorin's FAQ on updates. Personally I would make sure that your install is a manual install (the 'something else') method, i.e., 3 Partitions.
1. Format 50 Gb for '/' formatted to Ext4 and mark as Primary.
2. Extended partition: a. at end make a 'swap area' double the physical size of your physical RAM.
b. to the left of a. mark as '/home' and formatted to Ext4, Logical
If SSD format to Ext2 for partitions and no swap area as not needed but you will need to set up TRIM which windows does automatically:

https://www.howtogeek.com/176978/ubuntu ... -yourself/.

Then when upgrading use my reinstall method here:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=14472#p63840

Aravisian

Sat Aug 08, 2020 1:49:23 pm