This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

About partitions

iero79

Wed Aug 12, 2020 8:47:31 pm

Hi, I'm new to Linux, and this is my first time using Zorin.
When I installed it I didn't think about creating a partition to safeguard documents, as I had in Windows, because I know that partitions in this OS work differently.
So, I want to create a partition my way, but I can't do it with my own system manager, nor with Gparted, neither of them allow me to resize the partitions. Is there any way I can do this?.
Because, I want to have a partition in ntfs, so I mentioned above.
Thank you very much.

Swarfendor437

Wed Aug 12, 2020 10:39:51 pm

Hi, Did you do an automatic install? I am not sure if it will work but you should be able to shrink the partition that Zorin is on - that said I have never done that myself.
I would backup any critical stuff and follow my video guide here:

https://vimeo.com/266410509

iero79

Thu Aug 13, 2020 9:35:17 am

Swarfendor437 wrote:Hi, Did you do an automatic install? I am not sure if it will work but you should be able to shrink the partition that Zorin is on - that said I have never done that myself.
I would backup any critical stuff and follow my video guide here:

https://vimeo.com/266410509
Yes, automatic install.

iero79

Thu Aug 13, 2020 11:25:24 am

Hi, I think I have the answer, and that's because the disk is encrypted.
That is, with my little knowledge of Linux, I think I'm interested in reinstalling the system, but without such encryption, therefore, I should have no problem doing what I'm interested in.

I take advantage of this thread to make another query, different, so I don't need to open a new thread.
I use Google Chrome, and I have uninstalled Firefox, but the system updates indicate that I have updates to the Firefox language packs.