This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Zorin OS or Ubuntu

mr.purrfect58

Wed Mar 28, 2012 5:05:42 am

Hi There, I am a complete Zorin Newbie, never seen it before or tried to use it so I will need a lot of HELP. I have downloaded both Zorin 5.2 OS and Ubuntu OS. I have tried Ubuntu and had some problems with it, then I tried Zorin. I like Zorin better so I will stay with it for now, I have noticed that in the process of downloading updates it seems to be Ubuntu programs also to download. My question is: what do I download, the Ubuntu programs or find the Zorin programs?

madvinegar

Wed Mar 28, 2012 7:45:38 am

Zorin in based on ubuntu. More specifically Zorin 5.2 is based on ubuntu 11.04 natty narwhal. So you should download all recomended updates. At least this is what I have been doing for so long without any problem.

As regards the question Zorin or Ubuntu, all I could reply is that in my opinion, Zorin is ubuntu as it should be.

Wolfman

Wed Mar 28, 2012 8:36:10 am

Hi and welcome,

go here for info about updating:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1617

Regards Wolfman :D

mr.purrfect58

Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:05:36 am

Hi there, thanks for the info, I sure will need all I can get. I have been trying to find Doc. on Zorin, but I can't find any. I must be looking in the wrong places, I know they wouldn't build an OS without Docs. to tell you how to use it. Anyway thanks and I will keep reading the forum so I can learn something.

Wolfman

Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:16:49 am

Hi Larry,

as MV has pointed out already; Zorin is based on Ubuntu which in turn is based on Debian.

Any packages/programs that you wish to download and install can be done using the Ubuntu Software Center, Synaptic package manager or using the terminal if you know the commands.