This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

migrating windows file into zorrin via external harddrive

roof_man

Sat Mar 31, 2012 2:04:17 am

I am new to linux and not very savvy with computers. (Although my HP dv4 has definitely forced me to learn this past week) I have spent several hours a day for the past 3 days searching forums, trying shareware data recovery programs, and basically trying everything I can think of to access my external hard drive enclosure. The drive appears in "my Computer" as 2 icons. Generic- USB3.0 CRW -0 or -1. The type of file system is unknown to zorrin, and the permissions cannot be determined (or modified)

I have made few mistakes that might make a few of you laugh.... But I really need somebody's help to access my old data and copy it to Zorrin OS.

Essentially I need to access and copy files saved in windows, and on an external ntfs formated 3.5 SATA drive, (in Rocketfish 3.0USB enclosure) to Zorrin on a machine that no longer has windows

Below is just a long, LONG story of how this situation came to be.

I tried 32 bit Ubuntu first and then switched to 64bit Zorrin..........

This is what happened:

My internal, C:/, drive had win7 home premium factory installed on it.

I had extracted an ISO of Ubuntu 11.10 on to my C:/ drive using UnetBootin

Had a working "Live" version of of Ubuntu 11.10

Cloned my C: drive using XXClone to my external drive, H:/, Copied MBR

Rebooted and tried to install Ubuntu from the extracted ISO image ON my C:/ drive TO THE SAME DRIVE, when it wouldn't work on it's own, I looked up youtube videos and followed instructionsto manually partition the internal C:/ drive. (which is the same place windows, and my ubuntu installation media was)

This completely wiped out any working files on my internal c: drive {Learning is so fun :( }