This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

AutoStart Buffalo NAS? Is it possible??

dwh1956

Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:34:37 am

I've just set up my Desktop with Zorin OS 5.2 and I must say it's very impressive. My goal is to do away with windows XP completely and this seems to have just about all the programs I will ever need, of course since I'm quite new at anything other then Windows I'm still trying to figure out what does what.

I have a Buffalo LinkStation Live Network attached storage device that I have been using with my XP computer managing it via Link Navigator, it has an autostart function that as long as the XP computer is online the NAS is available for anyone to use on the network, well with doing away with XP I now have to manually turn on the NAS when I want to use it, kind of a pain. So what I'm trying to figure out is if there is a way of having Zorin autostart it, I found a link in a Ubuntu forum, http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1410353, that tries to explain how it can be done, it has something to do with sending 3 wake-on-lan requests every 5 mins or so, but I don't know if it would be the same in Zorin or not, also even though it appears very detailed on how it was done, it don't make a lot of sense to me. Remember I'm still feeling my way along here.

So has anybody done this, and if so can you put up a how to guide for the beginner.

thanks,
dwh

Wolfman

Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:27:02 am

Hi,

I have never used such things in my life and I can only suggest you go here:

http://forum.buffalo.nas-central.org/in ... a89c60d0ec

It would be the best place to look, I found a couple of links about Ubuntu but you should do your own search!!.

Regards Wolfman :D

dwh1956

Mon Apr 02, 2012 9:46:44 pm