This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Can't login

Gimmesumdeath

Thu Apr 05, 2012 4:17:59 pm

Hello!

I'm having some problem with my Zorin, when im at the login screen i type in my username and password, and the screen goes black then im back at the login screen again, and it keeps doing this. so i can't get in.

(theres a note in the top right corner wich says: Gnome power (..?) something isnt installed correct.)

madvinegar

Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:03:01 pm

If you plug an ethernet cable and run dpkg, you don't have to update afterwards. The updating (and the package fixing) is done while dpkg is running.

Gimmesumdeath

Fri Apr 06, 2012 12:32:44 am

swarfendor437: Believe it or not im not a complete moron, although i am new to linux =)
Thank you for the tip but I tried your other suggestion by booting recovery mode and typing "dkpg" it updated and all, but still find myself stuck at the login screen...

Wolfman

Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:31:36 am

Hi,

have you tried changing the session type at the login screen??, see if you can do that and if it helps, once fully booted, disable the login screen to see if there is a broken package somewhere by running the following command in a terminal:

sudo dpkg --configure -a

Then enable your login screen again!!.

Did you install the graphic card drivers via the hardware section in the control center??. (ATI and Nvidia only!)

Regards Wolfman :D
ubuntu1104classicgnome-small_002.png
ubuntu1104classicgnome-small_002.png (150.81 KiB)

PS: Swarfendor437 is not implying that you are a "Moron" so please refrain from making such remarks in the future, he made a good valid point about "Lock Caps"; nothing more!!.

Gimmesumdeath

Fri Apr 06, 2012 10:29:24 am

I've tried with changing the session, but nothing happens.