This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Running Windows Apps!..

VcDeveloper

Fri Jul 01, 2011 3:39:53 am

I Just purchase the 64 bit Zorin OS 5 Ultimate and currently I'm running a trial version of Windows 7 and I have all my development software installed. Like MS Expression, Torque 3D, MS Visual Studio 2008, SwishMax2, ModTool and other stuff for game and media development. Will I be able to run all this because I want to get rid of MS OS period and Just use my Windows Vista Ultimate (License version) in a VBox VM?

Thanks!

Just to make sure you understand my goals, I'm a game and multimedia developer and that is what I want to do with this OS.

VcDeveloper

Fri Jul 01, 2011 4:07:18 pm

I just found this feature "PlayOnLinux" and need to know if it will run the software I mention above or do I have to run a dual both menu?

rscott4581

Fri Jul 01, 2011 4:19:20 pm

Run a dual boot, if Linux could run all windows software it would have already taken over the market. Although you may get some Windows applications to run in Linux with Wine, most will not.

VcDeveloper

Fri Jul 01, 2011 6:48:01 pm

Ok, thanks for your reply! :)

Wolfman

Sat Jul 02, 2011 12:25:57 pm

I like playing games too; but Linux is reknowned for not running them all, even if your game is listed in the "runs on Linux" list, you may still have problems with things like shaders and directx versions under Linux. As the lads have said, dual boot is the safer bet, you then have the best of both worlds!!.

Regards Wolfman

VcDeveloper

Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:53:09 pm

Thanks everyone for your replies! I'm about to install and need direction for dual booting W/Win 7. I saw a Ubuntu 9 example, but want to be sure if I can follow the same directions with 7. It was by the youtube channel of thisweekinlinux " Linux Part 4".