This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(SOLVED) Need help installing .run

wilsonmg8181

Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:40:05 am

I am new to linux so a little slack. I am trying to learn linux because why not... so I thought zorin would be the easiest way to since that's what it's made for. I am trying to install Wolfenstein Enemy Territory. I went to Wolfensteins site http://www.planetwolfenstein.com/files/files.shtml and downloaded the linux version but I can't get it to install. I have tried using the Terminal but I don't think I'm doing it right. I have looked around in the forums but I'm not really finding anything on installing a .run file. Can someone just tell me how to do it please? Thanks

Wolfman

Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:51:02 am

Hi,

normally you download and extract the file, then right click on the icon (assuming it only has one icon) and go to properties > permissions and mark it as "Executeable" and then double click the file and then "run".

There is nearly alway a "Readme" file included in the package once extracted!!.

Let us know what type of file it is!!. (deb, tar, rpm etc). It will tell you at the end of the file!!.

Regards Wolfman :D

madvinegar

Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:52:35 am

Open terminal and navigate to the folder that you downloaded the .run file.

i.e.

Code:
cd /home/yourname/Downloads/Wolfestain
(I am just guessing - make the necessary changes).

and then execute the .run file as follows:

Code:
sudo nameoftherunfile.run

Hopefully it should bring up the installation window.

EDIT: WM I am reading in the net that the .run file for the game does not need extraction. I believe that the way to go is 1st to go to the permisions of the .run file and mark it as executable (as you very correctly suggested) and then just execute it from terminal with "sudo".

wilsonmg8181