This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Booting, Sound, and Panel Glitches

nick11h

Sat May 12, 2012 1:21:57 pm

I can only successfully boot normally one out of four times. When choosing the first option, I often get stuck on the blue screen (Now blank) or watch code stream down the black screen and freeze. The loading bar is usually present moving at a slow rate, in disproportion. As you're probably able to tell, I'm new to Linux.

Using recovery mode and then starting up use to work, but no longer. I've found going back from version 15 to 14 works, but I believe it may be the cause of my next problem.

The notification panel is blank. Sometimes it appears after a ten minutes and others, it refuses to show. This rarely happens when I get version 15 working.

Lastly,similar the panel, audio spontaneously ceases. I believe there are a few other threads on this, but I didn't see harm in including a line about it here.

I'm using an Acer Aspire, but also plan on using Zorin on a desktop I'm building. Any driver information I should have? I've noticed that Linksys wireless adapters don't often work either.

Thanks

nick11h

Sat May 12, 2012 5:27:06 pm

Acer 5741G
Intel i5
4G Ram (Upgraded to 8)
500G Hard drive
ATI Graphics Card (Somewhere around 6000 I think)
It doesn't seem to be sold anymore.
I'm only running Zorin.

Wolfman

Sat May 12, 2012 6:19:15 pm

Hi Nick,

boot into recovery mode and run "fsck" followed by "dpkg" and then restart. Let us know if this helps you further.

Regards Wolfman :D

madvinegar

Sat May 12, 2012 7:33:04 pm

Have you enabled the recomended drivers of your ATI card?
ATI cards sometimes have a temperature problem with linux and the system operates far better when the recomended drivers are enabled.