This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

How to mount drives at boot time?

pvadams0129

Mon May 14, 2012 1:00:29 am

I'm new at this (but learning). I've installed Zorin 5.2 along side windows XP. All works well on both sides. Instead of duplicating a lot of my data from windows into the Zorin system I simply access the windows drive from Zorin. I must manually access this drive to mount it before I can use it. Not a problem except that I have to do it everytime after I boot up. Is there any way to automatically mount these drives at boot time? I've been reading the various documentation sites and yet to find anything on how to automatically mount these drives.

Any help or guidance would be appreciated (and here's hoping I didn't duplicate a previously entered item).

Paul

Wolfman

Mon May 14, 2012 7:07:27 am

Hi Paul,

it isn't wise to mount your Windows partitions automatically as this can be a security risk, if you want to do it, use the configuration editor (gconf editor) to do it.

Press Alt + F2 and type "gconf-editor" and then check > apps > nautilus > preferences > "media_automount" and "media_automount_open" are enabled.

Regards Wolfman :D

Auldyin

Mon May 14, 2012 2:17:06 pm

Hi all
When I first installed Zorin last November I also wanted to automatically mount my Windows partitions mainly for my 60+G of music, I tried a few progs. from the package manager but none was satisfactory and one lost me access to Windows altogether which I couldn't fix and I had to reinstall Zorin again. I have all the settings that Wolfman recommends but I still have to use an app Disk Mounter added to the panel to mount on start-up. see pict. --------

scmt.jpg
scmt.jpg (73.6 KiB)

Cheers Auldyin

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Wolfman

Mon May 14, 2012 3:39:20 pm

Hi chaps,