This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Black screen after forced SHUT DOWN of Zorin 5.2 Live

RiaanF

Sun May 27, 2012 8:11:02 pm

Hi

I am a bit disappointed with myself here and would appreciate some help.

I run XP Professional on Acer laptop with these specs:
Intel (R) Core (TM) 2 Duo CPU
T5450 @ 1.66GHz
1.66 GHz, 1.00 GB or RAN

I used ImgBrn to burn the .iso image of Zorin 5.2 so that I could run it Live before deciding it I wanted to install.

I am very new at this, but I felt I was doing fine. Zorin Live booted fine from the disc and I worked on it for a good hour getting the feel of it. I wrote some stuff. Saved some stuff. Changed some setting.

I now prefer Zorin to Windows.

Only one issue. A web-browser wouldnt close. When I couldnt close it I tried to restart, but it wouldnt. The browser had froze.

So I forced the PC to shut down by pressing the shut down button.

Then when it shut down and restarted this is what happened:

The Acer screen (where you can press F2 to enter BOIS).
That loads.
Then nothing. A black screen with a flashing underscore in the left hand corner.
The DVD drive makes it sound as if the DVD is being read up until it makes a beeping sound.
Then nothing.

I can still use Windows, I am posting this from there, right now:

I cant eject the dvd.
When I go to My Computer to right click on the DVD drive it doesnt respond (My computer icon changes to white square).

All I want is to reboot Zorin so that I can run it alongside Windows.

Can anyone suggest what I can do to do that?

P.S. In Zorin the icons on the desktop are pretty large. How to change the resolution?

Really would appreciate anyones help in this.

In all honesty I am not as clued up as I should be and detailed, laymen terms would great. I am sorry for that inconvenience in trying to help me.