This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Moving a File to Different Folder

MarkAlan

Sun Jul 15, 2012 4:18:12 pm

Hi. I'm new to Linux, and a couple of weeks ago I purchased Zorin 6 Ultimate. I had previously tried to go with Debian, but it seemed like I had to be some sort of programmer just to use it. Zorin really has a great look and feel.

At any rate, I saw that there was an option in Gnome Menu to download additional start menu buttons, so I decided to do so. The problem is that I apparently don't have permission to move the file from where I downloaded it to where it needs to be.

I made a link in my "pictures" folder and extracted my new file there.

The "read me" file says:

To use this Gnomenu Button theme, simply extract the .zip, and then copy it to /usr/share/gnomenu/Themes/Button/
then right-click your gnomenu button, select Properties, then select the TuxOrb button.

So, I attempted to do all that, however, when I right click on the folder and select "copy" and then go to the specified location (/usr/share/gnomenu/Themes/Button/) there is no option to paste (it's grayed out). I can copy the folder to my desktop, but when I attempt to drag the folder to the required location, I receive an error message and the details indicate that permission is denied to move the folder there.

Why do I not have permission to move it? How do I get permission? How do I complete the simple task of getting my file to the required location?

madvinegar

Sun Jul 15, 2012 4:48:35 pm

Since you are new to linux I will tell you how to do it the easy way (the gui way).

Open terminal and write
Code:
gksudo nautilus

hit <enter> and write your password. (Note: your password will not be visible but it will be written).