This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Software Center problems.

Milkofdoom

Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:01:04 pm

Hello, I am very very new to Linux, installed it a week ago in fact. First I am on a Dell Inspiron 1526 Notebook with straight Unaltered factory devices. After several Linux dists I settled on Zorin OS lite (It was the only one that didn’t freeze after installing.) It runs alright but I cannot open the Software Center. There are many programs on it I would Love to download but it simply will not open. I click open, normally it doesn’t do anything, sometimes it tells me it has crashed. It does not tell me why, but it asks me if I wish to send in a report, which I do. I have run the package repairs and updates as suggested by wolfman in a sticky post. If anyone has an Idea about it I would be amazingly grateful. I have no prior programming experience, didn’t even know the difference between 32 bit and 64 bit systems until now. If you need any further information I would be happy to furnish it.

Wolfman

Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:58:06 am

Hi,

the software center is playing sill buggers at the mo so please see this thread first and then let us know if it is still not working:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

To install an app assuming you know its correct name can be done using the terminal and the command:

sudo apt-get install synaptic

will install in this example the app "Synaptic", replace Synaptic with whatever name of app you wish, it must be typed correctly though!!, another example would be:

sudo apt-get install amarok

Regards Wolfman :D

Milkofdoom

Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:53:53 pm