This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

How can I get 1280x720 screen resolution?

Zaaphod

Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:09:05 pm

I am very new to Linux, so please excuse me if I seem to be missing something obvious. I got Zorin because it seemed like a great way to get into Linux and still be able to actually find things, since I can make the menus look like windows menus.

I am having great difficulty changing my screen resolution to 1280x720. In my screen settings I have only options for 640x480 and 800x600. I have been searching the web for a solution to this.. and most of the solutions say to edit \etc\x11\xorg.conf but I do not have an xorg.conf in this folder. So I did a search on missing Xorg.cong, and appearantly it is no longer there by default, and there are solutions for creating the file, however with Zorin, I am unable to follow these directions. They say to switch to a virtual console by pressing CTRL-ALT-F1 and when I try that in Zorin, absolulty nothing happens. I try entering the commands in just a terminal window and things do not work as expected. the first command stops the graphical environment, which worked, but then I am left with a black screen I can type on, but no prompt and no reaction to any commands.

I really like Zorin, but this screen resolution thing is really annoying.. everything is just SO Gigantic, I cannot see hardly anything at all.. I can't even look at most websites without scrolling left and right constantly to read them.