This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Help re-creating specialized DVD for a school

RutReturns

Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:03:54 pm

First off, I am not proficient with Linux at all. I have played with it over the years off and on. I have a basic understanding of the file structure and terminal commands so I am not quite a noob either. I have messed with Ubuntu, Mepis, Mint and a few others and I really like what you guys have done with Zorin. I really like the feel of how it works, especially the live version. Probably one of the smoothest live versions I have ever used.

I am a Windows admin and one of my clients is a local school that runs an after school care program for low income children. We have a computer lab for them to do homework, projects, research, etc. 2 years ago a company donated 30 new Dell Vostro 220 computers with Windows 7. Every 6 months I am in there removing things the kids have done (changing the look, mouse pointers, saved files). Seems like no matter how much I try to lock it down, they still find ways to do things including infecting with viruses. They are also pretty good at using proxy sites to get to places we have blocked through our web filter.