This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Updating Problems, ver 12.04.1?

joshcantrell08

Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:26:39 pm

Ok, before anyone says: "GO LOOK AT TEH STICKY!!!" I have, and it does not help me at all.

I am a relatively experienced Ubuntu user and I LOVE Zorin's layout, it is surely 100x better than the Unity defaults that come in 12.04, in my personal opinion. However, I am having some problems with the system after updating (I am assuming it is a problem with incompatibilities with Ubuntu 12.04.1??) and would like to see if anyone else has these problems, and or has a fix for me. Thanks!

Now, let me explain a few basics:

I am currently a tech-school student, we are ALL running virtual machines of both Ubuntu and Zorin 6, and we all agree that Zorin 6 is much prettier and simpler to use, HOWEVER! After the recent update (we have tried both Update Manager and updating via the Terminal/Command Line) we are ALL having problems with repositories. ALL OF US! Double entries, missing entries, entries that make no sense, and we've tried EVERYTHING we can think of to correct them.

Before you say it is a virtual machine problem: I personally have tested if it is a virtual problem by installing the OS on my machine at home (I am a tech, I have many machines) and even one installed for a client. They both work nicely, with the exception of this update problem! It is still there!!!

We are running the 32 bit OS version, if that helps at all?