This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Login box

hasani

Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:29:58 am

I am a newbie.

How do I make the login box to have the users to key-in both username and password? Currently, the usernames is appearing at the login box and user will only have to key-in their password in order to login.

Wolfman

Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:31:42 am

Hi,

you should install the package "gnome-system-tools" which will add an icon in the main menu under "Users and Groups", armed with this tool you can setup accounts and how the guest accounts react with the OS, you can select how much access the guest has with regards to network or printing and other areas of the PC!!.

http://askubuntu.com/questions/66718/ho ... and-groups

Once you set up more accounts, the login window will change and offer user names and not just the password panel!.

Regards Wolfman :D

hasani

Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:23:53 am

Wolfman wrote:Hi,

you should install the package "gnome-system-tools" which will add an icon in the main menu under "Users and Groups", armed with this tool you can setup accounts and how the guest accounts react with the OS, you can select how much access the guest has with regards to network or printing and other areas of the PC!!.

http://askubuntu.com/questions/66718/ho ... and-groups

Once you set up more accounts, the login window will change and offer user names and not just the password panel!.

Thanks Wolfman..

I've installed the gnome-system-tools and run the Users and Groups. I added few users (altogether 6 users) but still, the usernames of the users are listed on the login screen.

Wolfman

Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:37:34 am

Hi hasani,

I don't really think that is possible, whether a list for the users exists or you type in their name, the result is still the same, is it not!!??.