This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(SOLVED) wireless done broked...

Geek_in_training

Fri Oct 05, 2012 11:50:07 pm

TOTAL NOOB HERE...so please be gentle.

I just installed Zorin OS 6 Core on my Dell Inspiron 1150 laptop. And from what I see (still don't know what I am really looking at yet) it seems to have installed correctly. I am able to connect to the internet via a wired connection, but my wireless connection is just not cooperating. I ran 'lspci' and found out that I have a Broadcom BCM4306 802.11 blg Wireless Lan Controller.
My "enable wireless" has a check mark next to it. But it says "Wireless Networks device not ready (firmware missing)".

So...I think I need to install a driver...but I dont' know how to do that..where I need to find it? Is there anyone that can give me a TOTAL NOOB step by step instruction?
Also, is there a website or forum, whatever, that has a bunch of basic programming for absolute beginners for linux/zorin?
Another quick question? When I search google for answer *which at this point it's all greek to me*..Is zorin considered an ubuntu system? (Does the advice/information given about it apply to zorin?

Geek_in_training

Sat Oct 06, 2012 3:32:34 am

so..I did that. After it scanned (when I clicked Additional Drivers) a screen popped up that said. "No proprietary drivers are in use on this system".

madvinegar

Sat Oct 06, 2012 4:53:06 am

Open terminal and write
Code:
sudo apt-get remove --purge bcmwl-kernel-source

and then
Code:
sudo apt-get install linux-firmware-nonfree

You may have to reboot.
Tell me if it worked.

If not, post the result of the following commands
Code:
lspci -nn
sudo lshw -c network
sudo rfkill list all

DanYHKim

Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:35:22 pm