This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Laptop battery life

nef131

Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54:59 pm

I am new to Zorin but have a couple of years experience with Pinguy, Mint and Ubuntu. I am setting up a laptop for my son and want to maximize, to the extent possible, its battery life.

On the other Distros I have used on laptops, I installed Jupiter. I tried this on Zorin core 6 but no icon showed up in the system tray. I uninstalled Jupiter after reading on this forum that there might be an issue. Be that as it may, what can be done to improve battery life, which, to note, is not a strong point in Linux?

Is there a way to get Jupiter to work? Would Granola be helpful? Or, is there something else that can be done?

Any suggestions would be welcome. Thanks.

Note: The computer in question is a Sony E Series laptop, with an I7 processor and AMD graphics card. Zorin core 6 is being dual booted with Windows 7.

madvinegar

Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:50:28 pm

nef131

Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:11:42 pm

Thanks for your suggestions. They are appreciated.

I am, if possible, looking for a way to be able to set rules, better than in the page you linked to, that distinguish between use when running on battery and use when running plugged in. That is what Jupiter offers. Moreover, Jupiter can be set manually, as preferred. I have not used Granola but it too reacts, if I recall, to specific circumstances.

nef131

Thu Oct 11, 2012 2:39:23 am

Thanks, swarfendor437.

By the way, does anyone know why Jupiter does not work? I have installed it in Pinguy 11.04, Linux Mint 10, 11, 12 and 13 - 12 and 13 with Cinnamon -, Ubuntu (with Unity) and with Gnome Shell. Is there some way to install it?

Wolfman

Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:00:22 am

Hi,

run the following commands one after the other in a terminal: