This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Partition help

jios

Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:59:48 am

I am new in Linux and this one confuses me. Please help me in here. Hopefully you see this image clearly because when I save it in Zorin and access in Windows, it can't display the file so I took it on my phone instead because Chrome can't connect in Zorin.

As you can see, I have three OSes and three back-up drives. I want to install the Zorin in the sdb6 (that is the 500GB Hard Disk No OS) and choose the WIndows 7 Loader because that is where I edit the Boot Options using EasyBCD. But this message box keeps popping out. Can you please help me on how to configure the correct one?

Wolfman

Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:05:58 am

Hi,

please see this guide and let us know how you get on.

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=2601

For Linux you need to have 3 different partitions, 1 root which is for the system files, 1 swap which supports the system RAM, 1 home which is where all your files and data will be stored.

Let us know if you need further assistance.

Regards Wolfman :D

jios

Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:25:47 am

What about using USB in Live Mode? Are there crucial changes? My DVD-RW isn't connected in my CPU so I only have to install it from a USB stick.

Wolfman

Mon Oct 15, 2012 10:45:04 am

Hi,

you can do the partitioning with Gparted which is install in the live version of Zorin 6 already, boot the disk and go to > Menu > System Tools > Administration > Gparted and make your changes to your partitions.