This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Newbie Login Password brick wall.

ViceGrips

Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:32:05 pm

Hi Zorin people,
I would like to login to my ZorinOS6 32bit download. I'm a newbie who is trying to run before I can walk.
I bought a seagate 320Gb drive, striped it out of it's case and swaped it into my Vaio VGN-BX296XP with 2Gb RAM (max). I refuse to retire the old girl.
My graphics card is an ATI Mobility Radeon with hyper memory, supporting 256mb. No issues here have cropped up.
I have downloaded iso's of GParted, Zorin, a few different versions of mint, and a few other distros and stuff and burned them successfully. (I'm making that sound simple. I'd have to sit down with ye over a few slow pints in order to explain how long it took, and what trials and adventures I had to go through to do this).
I have set up my drive as follows in GParted:

Partition File system Label size(Gb) notes
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
/dev/sda1 ntfs C: 39.35 Not in use
/dev/sda2 extended 258.74
/dev/sda5 ext3 zorin 40.00 boot
/dev/sda6 ext3 mint 40.00
/dev/sda7 ext3 other1 40.00
/dev/sda8 ext3 other2 40.00
/dev/sda9 ext3 /home 94.74
/dev/sda10 linux-swap swap 4.00
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have no file system yet.
I have no users set up yet, although I did try.
I have not set up grub correctly yet. (Once I have some sort of file system on the drive I'll play with grub properly).
When I boot Zorin from the DVD it takes about 15 mins to load (which is fine), but it brings me to the login prompt and I am stuck. The same if I try the direct install.