This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Seeking clarification on Software

Scenesofoz

Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:22:24 am

Hello all. I am a totally fed up Windows user by default and I am very seriously considering changing OS platforms. The deciding factor will be whether Lightroom will run and function in Zorin 6. As a professional photographer I have been using Lightrrom to catalogue and store for a considerable time and having near 100,000 images catalogued, I am now stuck with using it. Can someone please offer a definitive answer as to whether Lightroom will run in this OS or not.

Thank you in advance

Scenesofoz

Thu Dec 27, 2012 11:46:47 am

Thank you, I will check the link out.

insanidee

Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:18:18 am

Happy New Year!

I've ran Lightroom through Wine, but not well. It is very, very buggy. However - and this is important - mine is not registered through Adobe (if you understand), and that does change things from what I've read. I saw somewhere that Adobe programs do work, and if memory serves correctly, LR ran correctly for me at first. Also, I think I screwed up and updated too many things b/c Zorin isn't listed as my os in my system settings - it shows Ubuntu 12.04 LTS. [I think I am going to install Zorin 6 Core over my / partition to revert it back. I've been putting it off b/c, though I have a separate /home partition, I don't know what programs and customizations will need to be re-setup. Guess I'll find that out...unless anyone would like to enlighten me?]