This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[MOVED] Complete Linux novice would like some advice please

PeterwJames

Wed Dec 26, 2012 1:04:20 pm

Hi I am completely new to Linux but familiar with Windows (Which seems to be more of a hinderance with Linux so far) But I like the try before you buy attitude that comes with Linux and this is why I want to give it a try.

A little bit about myself, I run a smallish security installer company, we install intruder, access control, CCTV, and Fire alarm systems. We build our own CCTV Digital Video Recorders (DVR) using a windows embedded program. This program also has a client program (Also Windows) that our customers can use to remotely view live and and archived recordings. We also have a 24 hr control room our CCTV reports alarms to via input/outputs to client windows machines from our DVRs.

I am aware that there are quite a few Linux based systems that can do all of the above already, but we want to stick with our software develop it to work with Linux rather than change software.
So we want to have a look at what we can do with Linux and after reading up on the net I decided that Zorin would be the easiest place to put my toe in the water. So far so good I installed Zorin on a HP Proliant server that I have recently purchased, I then installed my Client software and after a few tweaks to the display settings it worked! to a fashion, not quite perfect but much better than I expected. I was surprised how easy it was to tweak for a complete novice to Linux.