This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[MOVED] How to Update Zorin Software.

ventrman

Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:05:18 pm

I installed Zorin about 3 Days ago, I keep getting a Message that Update Software is available, but when I go to Install the Software, I get the Message that a lot of the Updates are from untrusted Sources. It will not let me proceed past that Point. What do I do to resolve this :?:

ventrman

Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:58:42 am

swarfendor437 wrote:This will be because there might be 3rd party apps that are not on the main server such as third party ppa repos. nothing to worry about - you may want to remove certain repositories if you wish through either Synaptic Package Manager | Settings | Repositories or through Update Manager | Settings.

I am new to Zorin. How do I remove the Repositories you talked about :?:

ventrman

Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:45:37 pm

Thans for your Help. I will give it a Try. One other Issue I have is that I get the Message that it has failed to upload the Flash Player Plugin. When I click the Button for run this now. Nothing Happens. What can be done to fix this?

ventrman

Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:01:25 pm

swarfendor437 wrote:OK simplest way to get there is: Menu | System Settings | Administration | Update Manager. After it has launched, click on the Settings button bottom left, then go to 'Other Software' Tab and select the PPA then click on 'remove' - but be sure you know what it is you are removing!:

32.jpg

I tried to use your suggestion and unclicked eveything that I did not want it to Download. Now when I attempt to install the Updates, I get the Message that all System Files failed to download and to check my Internt Connection. As you can see from my being Able to access this Forum, my Internet Connection is Fine. I am using Dishnet Sattelite Internet. :?: