This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Boot problem! Help! :)

Dar1us

Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:43:00 pm

I have a problem. I can't boot my computer and I'm not a computer scientist.

I don't have a live CD or Zorin on a USB stick. The following error I get is...

BusyBox v1.18.5 (Ubuntu 1:1.18.5-1ububtu4.1) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help'. For a list of built-in commands.

(initramfs)

Anonymous

Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:56:00 pm

Look this thread over real good. : > viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4306

Not being mean, but the same little mistakes are being made over and over.
And I answered 99 % of the questions already.

Dar1us

Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:33:59 pm

Previously I was using Windows 8, I found the experience comfortable. I installed Zorin OS because I was curious and heard that Linux is generally stable and virus free, afterwards found out that it wiped my Windows 8 system completely and I thought: "Oh well, the user experience is nearly identecal to Windows, that okay"

Sooner or later, when I booted my netbook and then I got this error. I'm an average pc user and I don't know how to solve this problem by myself.

In worst cases, I'll either buy a new netbook or bring it into a repair store, if I can't get any help.

P.S. This is my first post and I'm new to Linux.

Anonymous

Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:06:49 pm

When installing Zorin OS.....did install along side Windows 8 or replace windows 8 with Zorin OS.
No matter what choice you made and you what Zorin OS on the Netbook.
Firstly you can only have one of the two (Win8) or (Zorin OS) on the Netbook for things to work right. >That decision is left to you.
Before we go any further,...you need to wipe the drive free of the other mess.
Then do a fresh install of Zorin OS....and update if possible.