This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[RESOLVED] sudo dpkg --configure -a crashes my machine

solafide

Thu May 23, 2013 7:49:19 pm

Hello there! I'm a Zorin noob and just install 6.2 Lite for my old Dell Inspiron E1505 laptop. The wireless drivers aren't working and my machine crashes when I do several things:
1- Go to Preferences>Additional Drivers and activate the Broadcom STA Wireless Drivers (so I need another option here)
2- Synaptic Package Manager crashes and when I try to uninstall SPM with the Software Center it crashes my machine
3- My machine also crashes when I try a: 'sudo dpkg --configure -a' when trying to solve these issues manually through a terminal.

So at the moment Zorin isn't looking so hot for this noob :P

What do I need to do to solve these issues? Is there any info I can give you that would help solve my problems (some wireless hw info at bottom)?

Thanks!

*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 02
serial: 00:15:c5:ac:25:8d
size: 100Mbit/s
capacity: 100Mbit/s
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=b44 driverversion=2.0 duplex=full ip=192.168.1.11 latency=64 multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100Mbit/s
resources: irq:17 memory:df9fe000-df9fffff

solafide

Thu May 23, 2013 8:40:10 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. Yes, the notebook is connected to the router via network cable. The internet connection works fine this way.

Edit: Still no wifi solution or sudo dpkg solution though...

Wolfman

Fri May 24, 2013 6:19:03 am

hi,

take a look at this update guide and run "DPKG" per the guide: