This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Screen 'blink' mystery

Uzi

Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:40:12 am

Hi,

I am a newbie looking at an alternative to Windows XP after it crashes each time I boot, I have looked at Puppy Linux and now Zorin...........LOVE Zorin on 1st look.

Now I have a mystery that I hope someone can help with. My screen (42" LCD TV) 'blinks' every 10 seconds. It did the same with Slacko Puppy but NOT with Lucid Puppy. So what is different with Lucid to Slacko & Zorin?

I am not into programming & editing so tech talk baffles me but I am not computer illiterate either. I am running Zorin off the DVD at the moment as I am scared to install in case I lose all access to my hard drives which at the moment I can get to through Zorin or Puppy if I need to rescue files from my C drive.

Any ideas?

Cheers

Uzi

Wolfman

Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:47:33 pm

Hi and welcome Uzi,

what type of connection to the TV do you have?, is it HDMI?.

I don't really know the reason why it doesn't work with Zorin but I can assume that it has something to do with the graphics card drivers not being installed on the live CD!!.

Go to System Settings > Hardware > Displays and have a look there for a possible setting that you can change!!.
Displays_028.jpg

RSVP.

Regards Wolfman :D

Uzi

Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:23:16 pm

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the replies & welcome. Because my Windows XP wont boot (opens to desktop then closes & reboots) I cant give you my specs but it is a desktop connected via standard PC connection. I have a Nvidia Gforce graphics card. Zorin gives this info - Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5400 @ 2.70GHz × 2 Graphics Gallium 0.4 on NV96