This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Very loud fan

Jaromir86

Mon Jun 10, 2013 8:05:24 pm

Hello,

I'm new to Zorin OS, it's great system but I have problem with very loud fan. It works about 7-8 minutes at maximum speed, than about 2 minutes at lowest speed and so on. Is there any option to control the fan speed? Setup some middle speed? When I was using Windows my computer was quiet but now is very loud even if I do nothing on it. I'm using Asus f6Ve laptop. Thank you for your help.

Have a nice day
Jaromir

Jaromir86

Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:26:45 pm

Thank you. I've tried fixing the kernel power issue but it didn't help. It's still loud. Any other idea?

Wolfman

Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:14:20 am

Hi Jaromir,

oddly enough I noticed high activity on my laptop after installing Zorin 7 yesterday, what type of graphics card do you have??.

I found this but haven't had the time to check it out myself yet:

http://askubuntu.com/questions/294012/l ... -load-afte

Did you fully update your system?:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

My system is fully up-to-date but it didn't help me so far, I have not installed any graphic card drivers yet!!.

Please let us know what graphics card you have so we can start there!!.

Regards Wolfman :D

madvinegar

Tue Jun 11, 2013 7:31:19 am

Wolfman wrote:Please let us know what graphics card you have so we can start there!!.

Exactly as WM says.
Please post the result of

lspci -nnk | grep -iA2 VGA

Jaromir86

Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:04:08 am

Thank you very much for the answers. 1) I have Zorin 6.3
2) Fully updated (I think so),
3) result: 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV710 [Mobility Radeon HD 4500/5100 Series] [1002:9553]
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device [1043:1b32]
Kernel driver in use: radeon