This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] Zorin 7 running very slow

sebsa

Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:08:05 pm

So, i guess i should open a new topic for this one, correct me if i'm wrong please:

I'm running Zorin 7 on my HP compaq 6715s notebook, wich is pretty old, but Win7 ran great and without any Problems.
Now since i've istalled Zorin via an 32gb usb stick on wich i've installed the Zorin iso with "Lili Usb creator", it needs like 10 seconds to open any Programm or folder.
Since i have no idea why, i can't tell you much more i guess D: *sorry >_<*

Im pretty new to this stuff and one of you members *thanks to madvinegar for fixing my wireless* allready helped me out great with some other issues.

Now, i think Zorin isn't ment to be THAT slow, maybe just because i've just installed it hoping i'd have some more ram for programms then with win7.

Looking forward for some help, thanks in before,
Best regards Sebsa~

Wolfman

Sat Jul 06, 2013 7:59:57 am

Hi,

did you set up enough Swap when you created the partitions in case you don't have enough RAM available?, it should be the same size (but not greater) as your RAM!!.

Did you do a full update?:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

Have you tried running "FSCK" in recovery mode??. (fsck = disk check under Linux!)

Did you install a 32 or 64 bit version of Zorin?.

Please answer those questions for us.

Regards Wolfman :D

sebsa

Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:22:16 am

i'm allways going better when i know what you guys need, thanks c:

sooo:
did you set up enough Swap when you created the partitions

? like ?___? never set up anything D:

Did you do a full update?

Nope, but i will now, thanks c:

Have you tried running "FSCK" in recovery mode??

Whoot? Don't even know how to D:

Did you install a 32 or 64 bit version of Zorin?