This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Update Error Message re dl.google.com/linux

maczorin-5

Sun Jul 07, 2013 8:06:00 pm

Hello I am a Zorin/Linux newbie so little knowledge to go with. Using Zorin 6 in 64 bit form and having an issue with an udate error message

Quote" W:Failed to fetch http://dl.google.com/linux/deb/dists/stable/Release Unable to find expected entry 'non-free/source/Sources' in Release file (Wrong sources.list entry or malformed file) this is on the us.archive.ubuntu.com?

Any help and guidance on how to fix this would be reassuring nothing appears to be awry with my system except my paranoia!

Wolfman

Mon Jul 08, 2013 6:37:19 am

Hi,

please see this guide about updating and change the download location of your software sources and let us know what happens:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

Regards Wolfman :D

maczorin-5

Tue Jul 09, 2013 10:17:43 am

Hi guys thanks for taking the time to help me.

FYI my system is a self-build following a Vista system/motherboard/PSU disaster on my old Vista PC. I also have an older Windows XP PC which has decided to loose my User Account data so i cannot boot that one up either for the moment; all of which has made me take the plunge with Linux and the Zorin Distro. My PC only has Zorin installed on one new 1T HDD but with a number of other SATA HDD extracted form my old Vista PC one 500 Gb pure data drive no programs;and one smaller drive with the Windows Vista OS on it plus Windows programs but with nothing "installed" on the Zorin system. I know that I will need to do some house keeping in future but that is for another day!!

Have done a quick read of your replies but I will need to take more time to re-read and understand it. Its a bit like visiting a modern day European country and trying to get by using school boy o-level french!!!