This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Printer driver selection

GKL

Fri Aug 02, 2013 1:14:01 am

I need to download a Linux printer driver from my printer manufacturer's web site but it gave me two choices and I need to know which one to choose for Zorin 7

Which one of these should I download for Zorin 7 ?

Linux (rpm)
Linux (deb)

Also, are there any specific proceedures for installing it after downloading or do I just simply download it ?

I am new to Linux so please explain in simple terms, thanks !

Wolfman

Fri Aug 02, 2013 5:27:38 am

Hi,

you need the .deb package for Debian based systems like Zorin OS, either 32 or 64 bit or the .alldeb package which works for both 32 and 64 bit systems.

You can use "Gdebi" package installer to install the package once downloaded by right clicking the package and on "Open With".

Please see the post install guide about Gdebi and there is also a printer section, if you have an HP printer, it is very easy!!:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2054

Make and model of printer would help!.

Let us know how you get on.

Regards Wolfman :D

GKL

Sat Aug 03, 2013 3:23:47 am

My printer is a Brother DCP-8080DN

After you said I would need the "deb" version for Zorin I thought it would be fairly simple, but after clicking on the "deb" link it gave me more choices that I have to figure out which ones to use.

They are at this link:

http://welcome.solutions.brother.com/bs ... 8&type2=-1

......looks like this might turn into a more than one day project figuring out which ones to use :)

Wolfman

Sat Aug 03, 2013 7:31:45 am

Hi,

find out whether you have a 32 or 64 bit system first by opening the System Settings > System > Details and look there:

Details_023.jpg