This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED]Installed but no luck even after running boot-repair

tjcool28

Wed Aug 14, 2013 6:46:59 am

I am new to zorin. My problem is that the OS seems to install just fine (asks me to remove dvd and close tray). The computer restarts, however, it goes to a blank screen with a cursor then nothing. It just goes dark. I was trying to install ubuntu (and gave up due this same thing happening). I really don't want to give up due to this looking so much better than Windows OS, however, I will go back to screw-me-soft(hard). Again thank you in advance hope i can get some help.

Wolfman

Wed Aug 14, 2013 10:48:16 am

Hi,

can you see the main Grub menu when booting?, can you select the 2nd option and then the "Recovery Mode" option and start "Network" then run "Dpkg"?. (A network cable is required to run "DPKG"!!) Then restart your PC if you manage to run DPKG with Ctrl + Alt + Del, do not click on "Resume"!!!!!.

What are your system specs please?.

Regards Wolfman :D

tjcool28

Wed Aug 14, 2013 10:17:30 pm

It boots to and through BIOS, but then nothing just a black screen with blinking cursor. I have a network cable connected at all times. My system is a intel e6420(2.13 ghz dual core2 duo 64-bit) I have three 80 gb hdd one 500gb hdd and one 320 gb external and 3.5 gb RAM.

I have not seen grub once or grub rescue. I downloaded it onto a DVD at lowest speed. Like I previously stated, Installs just fine from what I can see. The install goes all the way to remove disk from tray and hit enter. I do that and it turns off, I turn the computer back on and what I have stated happens, "NOTHING".

Anonymous

Wed Aug 14, 2013 10:57:08 pm

You sound like you have the normal syndrome of having the wrong drive as 1st = primary.