This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

New user - A few notes about zorin

larmannjan

Sun Sep 22, 2013 11:20:34 pm

Hi,
I am new to linux. I came form windows 7. You can see why i chose this distro. I am using the ultimate edition.
I have a few thing that I could use your help with.
1.) The home button does not seem to bring up the menu. That's weird because it does in other distros.

2.) I have the bottom panel set up to dissapear when my mouse is not there. However when I open the zorin menu the panel overlaps some of the menu. I would like the zorin menu to be raised up a little over the panel.

3.) When hovering over open app in the panel the icon is often black.

4.) in windows 7 home+left would mover your app to the left side of the screen. just like dragging and snapping it to the left does. Could this be added. The same is true for home+up = fullscreen , home+right would take up the right half of the screen.

5.) The panel again: I like the lucido look but it is semi transparent in some regions i would rather have it be filled with a shade of gray. becuase it is hard to see icons if there is other stuff under them.

6.) In windows 7 in the bottom right there is a button that shows the desktop. I used it a lot. Is there a zorin option for this?

Thats all for now.
The picture is for 2.)
Pannel.png
2.)

Wolfman

Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:26:33 am

Hi and welcome,

first off, please take the time to read the post install guide as there are several tips related to the AWN panel:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2054

I don't have time at the moment to answer all your questions and will will be back later!. I am sure someone else will pipe up in the meantime.

Regards Wolfman :D

Swarfendor437

Mon Sep 23, 2013 11:58:09 am

larmannjan wrote:Hi,