This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

GPU question

laword

Sat Oct 05, 2013 3:00:28 pm

Hello,

First I just want to say that I have used this forum to solve some of my earlier issues (grub failing to install). So I will fire away with my first noob ( sorry I have some linux knowledge but google has been my friend since my move from Win7)

I have a ATI Radeon HD 5670 GPU. I'm running Zorin OS 7 Core. I installed the drivers from ATI, the version number is 13.4? But the install showed 12.4.. I have read that there has been some issues with the ATI driver and Xorg or Xserver (after reading my eyes have become crossed..) I took a software update and from this update after rebooting my display would be blank. So after some thought I decide to do another clean install and hold off from updating until I can make sense of the issue.

So really i guess my question is: " Is it better to use to experimental beta driver from ATI to get around this display issue or Use the option under additional drivers"using X.org X server option."

I'm pretty sure that I might need to send a log file or display results but due to my minor ( and I hope refreshing and growing) knowledge of linux I can provide it. I just worry about having to due another fresh install again and again.

Thank you all for any and all help.

Wolfman

Sat Oct 05, 2013 4:27:05 pm

Hi,

do not use experimental drivers as they can be unstable and unsupported by the OS!. Only use the recommended drivers!.

Use the Additional Drivers tool in Synaptic > Settings > Repositories > Addtional Drivers only!.

See also:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2490

You can safely use the drivers from the PPA's from the above link!.

Regards Wolfman :D

Swarfendor437

Sat Oct 05, 2013 10:37:25 pm