This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(SOLVED) Screensavers and Co

Linko

Fri Oct 25, 2013 9:27:39 am

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Linux and was wondering why there is no screensaver option in the Standard edition of Zorin OS 7?

Swarfendor437

Fri Oct 25, 2013 5:43:45 pm

Basically, screensavers aren't necessary these days because they were originally designed to help prevent 'burn-in' on CRT (Cathode Ray Tube) monitors. TFT/LCD/LED don't require this due to the technology involved - however there is nothing to stop you installing X-screensaver from the repository using synaptic or from a terminal:

Code:
sudo apt-get install xscreensaver

:D

Wolfman

Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:24:37 am

Hi,

open System Settings > Personal > Brightness & Lock and check your settings there:

Brightness & Lock_055.jpg

There is also "Screen idle activation" in Dconf Editor:

Dconf Editor > Org > Gnome > Desktop > Screensaver > idle-activation-enabled

dconf Editor_056.jpg

Regards Wolfman :D

Swarfendor437

Sat Oct 26, 2013 1:26:00 pm

Hi Wolfman, I think he was meaning why no 'traditional' screensaver! :D (Pear 7 included a screensaver [xscreensaver I believe] but interestingly absent in Pear 8) :D

Wolfman

Sat Oct 26, 2013 2:32:38 pm

Hi Swarf,

"Screensaver" is installed by default on Ubuntu systems, I disable it myself!.

Package is "gnome-screensaver" I think?.

Linko

Mon Oct 28, 2013 9:32:42 am

Thanks for the replies.