This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

[SOLVED] firefox install problems

ogborne

Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:20:49 am

I am very new to linux, but zorin 7.1 seems very easy to use and I like it very much. Everything seems to work very well except for one glich. I have been using chrome for web browsing and I like it, but I am a long time user of firefox in windows. I have tried to install firefox using zorin web browser and it seems to install, but when I open firefox and type in the search bar and then click on the search button nothing happens. I can type in a web address and it will connect to the website, but the search function doesn't seem to work. I have uninstalled firefox and reinstalled it, but I still get the same results. I think zorin 7.1 is installed properly, because everything seems to work. I have downloaded software from the software center and that worked. Is there another way to install firefox in zorin 7.1? This is not a major problem as I can use chrome for browsing. Now that I have nautilus, I am almost ready to switch completely from xp. Thanks so much for such a great distro.

Wolfman

Sat Nov 02, 2013 11:52:10 am

Hi,

open a terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t) and paste the following command, enter your password and restart your PC afterwards:

Code:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade -f

It may just be a case of missing dependencies!.

Regards Wolfman :D

Swarfendor437

Sat Nov 02, 2013 6:13:22 pm

If after following Wolfman's advice and you are still having issues, go to the official 'mozilla' download for the correct version (country/language) and search for a '.deb' file - Don't have 7.1 installed but 7 (as well as 6.0! ):

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all/

choose the language and Penguin icon of your choice to download a .tar.bz file.