This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(SOLVED) 3g dongle

lobsters15

Mon Dec 16, 2013 10:18:45 am

Although I am a complete newbie re linux I have been so impressed with Zorin 7 that I installed it on my friend's astonishingly slow laptop running windows 7. He and his wife are off to Spain for a month and they use a 3G dongle to connect to the internet. It worked reasonably well with windows 7. I appreciate that there could be problems with Zorin and there is a suggestion that sakis3g needs to be installed. Is this correct? If this is so where can I download sakis3g and how do I set it up?

Swarfendor437

Mon Dec 16, 2013 12:42:01 pm

Hi, madvinegar is the expert for this - please be patient - hope he's along soon! :D

lobsters15

Mon Dec 16, 2013 7:10:33 pm

I came across this advice from a posting by madvinegar. Unfortunately when I double click to run after allowing it to execute as a program, nothing happens in the new window that opens.

Posting by mad vinegar shown below
The other method I have found which is very easy and helpful is to install and run "sakis3g" program.
I can give the link to download it so you can do that from another PC that actually has internet connection and then transfer it to the PC that does not have internet connection via a USB stick.
You just download it, right click it > properties > allow executing as a program and then double click it to run it.
You follow a set of easy questions and hopefully at the end you get connected. It has the option to even create a desktop shortcut which you can use to connect/disconnect. I think its much easier than modeswitch. Maybe I should prepare a guide about it at some point.
It is completely separate though from network manager (unlike modeswitch). This is no big deal ofcourse.