This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Black screen after GRUB on install

Jarkfander

Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:33:49 pm

Hello world!
First of all i'd like to say i'm pretty new to linux and zorin is really attracting me right now. Anyway, i'd love to try the os but i have some problems with the installation:

I run on an asus g75 with windows 8 preinstalled and uefi. I've disabled secure boot and enable pxe op rom (or something like that) so i can boot on the DVD driver. So far i don't think i made a mistake. I have checked my iso MD5, and burnt it on a DVD, with ImgBurn as recommanded in the installation guide with a 3x speed (it is the slowest i can pick). I've tried with 3 different DVDs (it's starting to be expensive :p), but i still have the same problem. The grub is OK but when i select to boot the live DVD, i get a grey screen, with a black underscore for a few sec and then nothing: blackscreen and all i can do is to power off the pc. I'm facing a wall and i really count on your help guys ^^

Any advice is welcome.

(apologies for my terrible english, or if i look rude, english is not my mother tongue, and i swear it is not on purpose :) )

Wolfman

Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:44:04 am

Hi,

when you see the Zorin menu, press the "Tab" key and type "nomodeset acpi=off" and then press enter and see if it boots, do you have an Nvidia graphics card?.

Hope it helps.

Regards Wolfman :D

leroilightning

Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:11:06 am

I have the same laptop (with NVIDIA graphics). With the Live CD version of Zorin 8.1 running, I pressed Tab at the OS selection screen, specified "nomodeset acpi=off", and booted into the desktop without a problem.