This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Networking Zorin Computers

ExTankerDriver

Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:51:59 pm

Hi,

This has probably been answered before, but I haven't found the solution yet. I have Zorin installed on two computers. Both are wireless through the router. I have a network printer that both computers see, and I can connect to the internet, but I cannot get the two computers to see each other on the network. I am relatively new to Linux, but if someone can tell me what to look for or even give me instructions on what I am doing wrong, I can manage it from there. :)

Swarfendor437

Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:54:01 pm

Hi ExTankerDriver, and welcome to Zorin. This page might be helpful - if it is not what you are seeking, please come back to us for more guidance. :D

http://askubuntu.com/questions/135290/h ... -computers

Linx

Thu Jan 30, 2014 3:49:23 am

are you talking about seeing the Zorin computers under
Zorin Menu > Network ??

If so, I believe that you have to install a samba client / server on the computer. (smbclient I think is a popular choice)

You can truely find out if the computers can "see" each other by doing this.
install openssh-server and nmap on each of the computers
Code:
sudo apt-get install -y openssh-server nmap

Then you can get the IP address from the computers by typing
Code:
ip addr

then make sure the other computer is listening using nmap
Code:
nmap -p 22 <ip_of_other_computer>

and if it responds with open then you know they can see each other, you should also be able to log via ssh using
Code:
ssh username@<ip_of_other_computer>

of course you will need to replace "<ip_of_other_computer>" with the actual IP address from the other machine, and you will need to replace "username" with the far end username you wish to use to login...