This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Unable to find Skype on the panel

maccabbeo

Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:27:54 am

Hi to all,
I'm new to Zorin.

INTRODUCTION. As you know, Skype windows have the "X" close button allowing you to close the current window (chat window or contacts window) while keeping Skype still running.

EXPECTED BEHAVIOUR. Other Ubuntu based distributions consequently remove the window icon from the panel while Skype icon is still visible on the task bar, just because Skype is still running. I mean the task or notification bar including, for example: the clock, battery and network icons by default.

BEHAVIOUR. The above expected-behaviour does not happen with Zorin. Once you close such windows you are not able to reopen them since no other Skype icon is visible anywhere and re-launching Skype from the application menu just opens a new instance of Skype while the old one is still running as shown in the System Monitor.

WORKAROUND 1. Before launching the first instance of Skype (for example after a fresh reboot) you should pin a new launcher on the panel. This way, per each session, clicking on the launcher for the first time will launch the application while clicking further allow you to restore the skype windows.

WORKAROUND 2. Add the "Notification Area" or the "Notification Daemon" applets (at the moment, not sure whether just one or both of them together did the job) to the panel, before launching Skype.

QUESTION. Is all that "normal" with Zorin? Just in case, what about reproducing the same behaviour as other common Ubuntu based distros (for example: Ubuntu itself, Kubuntu, Linux Mint...).

Thanks,
regards.

Wolfman

Tue Feb 18, 2014 3:43:24 pm

Hi,