This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

My internet is not working, please help!

DeepPurpleHaze

Sat Feb 22, 2014 5:00:59 am

Hello!

I just recently installed Zorin 8 on my laptop and I'm running into a few problems. My wireless network is not working, and neither is my ethernet. Now, I've been researching for a bit and from what I understand is that I have to download a windows wireless driver (not sure 100%). The thing is that I can't connect through my ethernet either to look for drivers! Please help me what can I do? I'm new to Linux so this is all very new to me.

If it helps, I ran a lspci -nn command and my network controller is:

Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8187SE wireless LAN controller

And my Ethernet controller is:
Realtek Seminconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/ 8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller.

If I'm missing a piece of information please let me know.

Thank you :)

Wolfman

Sat Feb 22, 2014 5:43:09 am

Hi,

did you have it working on the Live CD?, restart your PC with the live CD inserted and see if at least your network adapter works and then we can work it out from there.

Let us know about the live CD situation first please.

Regards Wolfman :D

DeepPurpleHaze

Sat Feb 22, 2014 5:53:08 am

Well, thank you for answering.

No, I'm running my OS from a bootable USB. My Hard Drive has Windows 7 installed.

Wolfman

Sat Feb 22, 2014 6:05:56 am

Hi,

have you rebooted into it yet and tested the network adapter?, have you checked to see if networking is switched on at the panel icon?, left mouse the network icon and make sure that "Enable Networking and Enable Wireless" both have a tick beside them.
Menu_003.jpeg
Menu_003.jpeg (53.67 KiB)

DeepPurpleHaze

Sat Feb 22, 2014 6:44:42 am