This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Unable to use Testdisk.

Sid

Sat Feb 22, 2014 12:56:04 pm

Well, hello there. My name's Sid, from Egypt. I'm 15 years old. I recently heard of Zorin and thought it'd be great to try and I must admit, it's awesome. But unfortunately, I formatted my laptop by mistake when I was installing Zorin as I chose the "Replace Windows" option. It's my fault from the beginning, I know. However, though. I was recommended to use a program called TestDisk, almost everyone who used it recovered his lost data with no problems at all. Unfortunately, I am unable to install most programs because well.. I'm a Linux noob by the meaning of word. I honestly know nothing about how Linux systems work. I have a Zorin 8, not the ultimate one. I'm using the free one at the moment. How do I launch TestDisk in order to begin recovering? I found guides on the internet on how to do so, but my awn terminal seems to have a problem with that. I would appreciate all kinds of help.

Wolfman

Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:17:49 pm

Hi Sid and welcome,

first open a terminal with Ctrl + Alt + t and paste the following command to install "testdisk":

Code:
sudo apt-get install testdisk

Once installed take a look at this guide as I have never used it before and cannot really give you any or much advice:

http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk_Step_By_Step

Let us know if it helps.

Regards Wolfman :D

Sid

Sun Feb 23, 2014 12:35:26 am