This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Making the "Big Move" - 1 question on Disks/Partitions.?

Wirezfree

Sun Mar 23, 2014 8:55:52 pm

Hi,

I'm still very new to Linux,
But have made the decision to move from just using it on my Laptop to putting it on my main PC, "NOT" dual boot.
I have probably tried 5/6 distros, and I'm pretty hooked on Zorin. So to my question.
I have always removed all partitions, created new ones and started fresh with each distro, but only 1 disk in my Laptop.
My main machine's got 2 disks, so following the same path.
During install select "other" for disk set-up
1. Remove all partitions on disk 1 and 2
2. Select disk1, create partition table.
3. Select free-space and Create / root and mark this as mbr/boot
4. Select disk 2, create partion table.
5. Select free-space and Create the /swap and then /home

Then proceed with install,
install will recognise the 2 disks, and the correct partitions.
Have I got this right..?

Thanks... Dave

Swarfendor437

Sun Mar 23, 2014 9:49:26 pm

I would say it depends on how big the hard drives are - having '/' on one drive seems an awful waste! You could have Zorin Core on one and Zorin Educational on the other drive! :D

Wirezfree

Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:31:09 pm

Swarfendor437 wrote:I would say it depends on how big the hard drives are - having '/' on one drive seems an awful waste! You could have Zorin Core on one and Zorin Educational on the other drive! :D

Hi,
Disk 1 is relatively small SSD , 64GB
My plan is to install Zorin 8, and retain free space for next release, which I believe will be 9 and LTS.?
Then I can have dual boot, tinker/play/test in 8, and use 9 for real stuff.

Do I have my steps disk prep steps correct.?

Thanks... Dave

Swarfendor437

Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:40:06 pm