This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

2 hardware issues Zorin 8 32-bit new user - Zorin core 8.0

rmbelson

Mon Mar 31, 2014 7:12:29 pm

1. I get no mouse or keyboard control on boot so I can't boot into safe mode -- just watch as screen boots into main OS.
2. Sound manager sees my Audigy 2 Value soundcard -- analog, analog (no amplifier) and digital. No matter what I click, no sound output. I have tried to understand how to address this from Ubuntu forums, but I am completely new to Ubuntu/Linux, migrating from Windows environment. All the docs I see are too confusing for me to follow, sorry. They expect I am highly experienced with Ubuntu, not the case, alas.

To moderators -- If I purchase Premium version, are these problems you can help me with, or am I facing a hardware issue, esp, with soundcard, that will never get fixed, so investing in Premium will not help?

If I install 8.1, will this help?

I have several PCs with Win XP I need to handle, and would be happy to use Zorin on all, if I could get this kind of thing figured out. Love how well the OS works otherwise, but playing music is important to me. BTW - your new Music app sees my files on my home network which is a big improvement over previous releases where I couldn't bring those files into my library, so many thanks to the team. If I could solve these 2 problems, I'd become a convert for sure.

Swarfendor437

Mon Mar 31, 2014 7:25:50 pm

Hi, I can see by your post count that you have posted here before but could you please remind us of your machine (spec, model, brand, etc)?