This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

Black screen after Zorin 8 install

mjbernier

Wed Apr 02, 2014 1:28:37 am

Before you flame me, let me explain a few things about my situation:

1. I'm a noob with Zorin.
2. I'm trying to upgrade a XP machine. I tried Ubuntu on it and it loaded just fine, but wanted to install Zorin instead because the XP-like interface will be less distressing to the person who will eventually use this machine.
3. I downloaded Zorin 8, verified the checksums, burned it to a DVD using the slowest speed, and verified the burn is okay.
4. I installed Zorin using the same disk on a VMware virtual machine on a different platform and it worked perfectly, so I know the disk is good.
5. Both the Zorin live version and the full install on the XP machine produce the same result - after booting, the screen is totally black except for the mouse pointer. I can see it, move it around, and click it all day long but nothing happens.
6. I have tried the "press Tab at the Zorin menu and type 'nomodeset acpi=off' ' suggestion, but all I get in return is the message "command not found" or something similar and it still boots to a blank screen. Obviously there's more to typing this in than is being explained for someone who doesn't use a Linux command line often enough to follow.
7. If I let the machine sit for a few minutes, the session locks...when I press a key or move the mouse, the unlock screen *does* appear and allow me to enter the user password. After that, it immediately goes back to a blank screen.
8. I tried using the search function on this forum to look for a similar problem, but every search term I use comes back with no results.