This is a static archive of the old Zorin Forum.

The information below may be outdated. Visit the new Zorin Forum here ›

If you have registered on the old forum, you will need to create an account on the new forum.

(SOLVED) EPSON Stylus Sx435W drivers wont install

Germiston

Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:41:29 pm

Apologies. I'm a newbie moving from XP & so dont really understand Zorin BUT before I carried out a full install I ran the OS from the ISO disc I had created. Using that I quickly identified & installed the approved Epson drivers & printed a page. I then opted for a full install & while I can find my printer in the list that is created & choose the same drivers I did whilst running from the disc I cant get them to install it seems to 'hang' at a point before the 'progress bar' is created. Help...I'm totally stuck :?

Wolfman

Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:56:46 am

Hi,

open a terminal (Ctrl + Alt + t) and paste the following command:

Code:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade -f

Restart afterwards and see if you can print, the above command forces any missing dependencies and updates to install!.

See also:

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2247

For info about software sources settings and updating in general!. :D

Also, you can open Synaptic package manager and type "epson" in search and install all the packages it shows if any are missing as installed in the list!.
Synaptic Package Manager _011.jpg

Germiston

Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:53:19 am

Morning. When I tried the terminal it prompted me for a password...when I tried to put one in, nothing happened....no typing appeared. I am now using Synaptic as you suggested BUT there are a couple of dozen drivers many of which don't appear to relate to my printer. Incidentally...I tried to install the drivers the 'normal way' first thing this a.m. & it seems that the 'system' froze/stopped responding...sorry can't be more technical, but in XP I just pressed a key and stuff happened. Further help sought please...

Germiston